• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hawswater Golden Eagle ? (1 Viewer)

barontan2418

United Kingdom
On what was possibly the best day weather wise this year I spent 5 hours waiting for our friend to show but no sign of him. What was unusual was the number of corvids flying across the valley with impunity. I know one day with no sighting means nothing but I did start to worry. I would ask any member who visits the watch-point to let us know of any sightings. I've been visiting the watch-point for close to 20 years now and cannot remember a day with such good weather when I've failed to get a sighting He should have been up there displaying.

Yeah hope he's ok, been years since I was last over there.

Watching the eagle scrapping with a peregrine was a view I'll always remember ;)

I'm surprised a re-introduction hasn't been attempted. My understanding is he's pretty much wasting his time at the moment. Surely better than releasing any more Red Kites. Plus I need GE for Yorkshire and with no off - spring that's starting to look unlikely now. The days of relatively regular North Yorkshire sightings have gone.

The Catch-22 with reintroduction is that:-

If there is a chance of a connection with the northern population then a female will come along hence no need for a reintroduction.

If there is no chance of a connection with the northern population then the Lakes would have to support its own sustainable population of 30+ pairs which it can't. Hence no reintroduction.