• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

magnification V Stability (1 Viewer)

stagsden

I am looking to buy a new pair of binos. I have been using a pair of Zeiss 7x42 BGAT*'s for many years but recently tried a pair of Swarovski EL 8.5x42's which were staggering.
I am tempted to now go for the Swarovski 10x42 EL for the extra magnification which would be very benifitial but have been warned that they will not be as steady.
Anyone with a pair of these binos and would like to comment on their own experience.

Alec

They will not be as steady, why dont try the Zeiss FL 7x42? I prefer 7x42 and don't regret buying the Zeiss FL 7x42. The resolution is amazing and a stable view is very useful. If to buy a pair of EL:s I would recommend the 8,5x42 since the 10x-model is not as good optically, and be sure you get the "MKII-version" with the new faster focusing wheel.

Alec,

Stability is much more complicated than simply being a tradeoff with magnification. Weight and balance are equally important, as they affect the vibration frequencies involved and the angular vs. displacement motions that take place. Some folks like myself find 10x binoculars quite stable, probably not because they are 10x but because of the other factors.

So, as most people would agree, there is no way around making the final determination based on your own personal assessment.

Regards,
Elkcub

Last edited: