• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Teleskop-Service 8x42 Triplet and Nevada (1 Viewer)

JonS

Hi,

I'm a novice birder on a tight budget.
Encouraged by Dr. Holger Merlitz's review of the TS 10x42 Triplet, I had a look at the Teleskop-Service website. Has anyone tried the TS 8x42 Triplet and/or the 10x42 Nevada ? It just seems so unlikely to me that such highly praised binoculars can sell so cheaply, that I may be expecting too much for their similar models to perform as well. Can anyone comment on how they compare to the 10x42 Triplets or an old pair of Zeiss Jena 10x50 Jenoptems/Dekarems?

I would also be very interested in advice on whether the 8x or 10x models would be most suitable for me. I live quite near the RSPB reserve at Fowlmere, so will be using these from a hide a lot. They will be my general purpose (only! ;) ) binoculars though, so should be suitable for a variety of situations. I already have a small telescope - an old Soviet era 20x50 Turist-3, which I am very pleased with. What particularly concerns me is the field of view versus magnification (if the different models are equal in optical quality). From my limited understanding it seems that the 10x50 Jenoptems would allow me to have my cake and eat it, while I need to make a choice if I go for one of the Teleskop Service models.
Thanks for your advice!

Jon

JonS said:
Hi,