• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon 8x32 SE Questions (1 Viewer)

LDueck

Hello everbody.
I'm new to BF, having joined recently after spending a lot of time reading the discussions on the binocular forum. I've been birding for almost 20 years now and I'm in the market for a new set of binoculars and I'm leaning heavily towards getting the 8x32 SE. Before posing my questions about it, let me give you some background.
I'm still using my first set of binoculars; a pair of 20 year old Minolta 8x40 porros with an extra wide angle fov of 9.5 degrees. They were about $100 CDN when new and have served me well. Being extra wide angle they suffer from extensive softness at the edge of the field. They are not as bright as today's equivalent and their close focus distance is about 15 feet. However, they go from close focus to infinity in 3/4 of a revolution.
I also have a pair of Nikon Travelite III 7x20 with a 7.1 degree fov that also go from close focus (15 feet) to infinity in 3/4 of a revolution. They are 12 years old.