• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How do I start my Life List (1 Viewer)

annlondon

I really love birds but have always done bird watching on a sort of adhoc basis. I have so many interests that this one has tended to be in the background. In 1989 I studied in the US for a year and had a free subject slot so decided to fill it with an Ornithology course. I realise now how very lucky I was because it still surprises me how quickly I can identify a bird purely because I had such a good grounding in classification.

However, I have never put together a Life List and often never kept a list at all - it was just pure enjoyment of birds. In the Seychelles, for example, I bought a small field guide and just have ticks against the birds I identified.

This web site has really inspired me and although I still don't think I have the time to get into creating extensive field notes I would love to keep a record of the birds I have seen. I travel quite frequently and with Mexico in a month's time and Costa Rica in a year's time I want to do it more seriously.

So, my question is: what can I legitimately put on my Life List. Once I have my Life List what are the bare details I should record (eg bird, place, date?)?

It is your list, so you can pretty much do what you want with it. However, generally wild birds are put on a life list, i.e. no escaped birds, captive birds, or introduced birds that do not have sustainable population.

For Britain, the list of acceptable birds can be found here: The British List Thus you would only record birds in the categories "A", "B", and "C".