• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

An absolute beginnner (1 Viewer)

Jools

Hello to all you birders out there - it's good to become part of your community. I'm an absolute novice, starting from scratch but a mate of mine has already got me hooked. I don't even have a pair of binoculars yet! Can anyone suggest some good bins for around £400-500? I've had a look at the Bushnell Elite - are they any good? I need a pair with an Interpupillary distcance of at least 76mm (I've tried lots of bins but they don't open wide enough - the only ones that I've tried that were any good were the Zeiss FL and the Nikon HG (both very expensive)). I'd appreciate any help.

Hi Jools,

A warm welcome to BirdForum from all the Moderators and Admin. Glad to have you on board :t:

Have a browse through the Bins forums and if you have any specific questions post them there. I am sure you will get plenty of advice.

My only advice is that if you are spending a lot of money don't buy without trying. Bins are quite a "personal" thing.

Hi Jools and a warm welcome from me too.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here

D

Jools said: