• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

canon 7D or T2i (1 Viewer)

owl4one

Hi all. I've purchased a canon 300mm L 4 IS lens, but I'm using an old canon rebel XT. My pics don't seem to be as sharp as I'd like them (this certainly could be "user error," as I'm fairly new). I'd like to upgrade, and was wondering if the T2i will be sufficient or is the 7D that much better? I'm primarily interrested in bird photography, both "still" and flying. Is the 7D's primary edge a faster focusing system? Will it provider sharper pics? Since I'm not a pro, I'd sacrifice a few missed shots due to focus speed if it meant saving 1/2 price on the camera. Thanks for any feedback!

After buying an EF400 f5.6 and using it on my XT, I also wasn't getting consistent results in the form of soft focus. After googling a bit I came across the much controversial front-or-back focus issue associated with longer Canon lenses. On the XT I did the "mirror box" adjustment which takes time and patience but corrected the front focus the 400 exhibited on the XT. This adjustment also caused my EF70-200 and EF-S60 to back focus. Clearly this isn't an elegant solution to this problem.

I read about MFA (micro focus adjust) which the 50D, 7D, and all other xD series cameras have, BUT not the 60D or any of the Rebels. After borrowing my neighbor's 50D and testing the MFA with both my 400 and 70-200 I became convinced this isn't a luxury, but a necessity. The MFA will remember up to 20 different lenses and every time you replace a lens, the body knows what to do with it. Pretty cool.