• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help! Advice on Field scopes Wanted please! (1 Viewer)

Could anyone please tell me what the best field scope to but just now is? I am going to get one today (Hopefully!) but i don't know which to get because i have never had one before. It will be used only for birdwatching/wildlife watching and i have no problem of size or weight. But, it must be reasonably priced and be very good for seeing birds from far away (obviously) This is my first time for owning a field scope and i can't wait to do birdwatching even more and to appreciate birds even more than i already do.
Your help will be very, very much appreciated!

Thank you very much,

If weight is no issue then it will be worth buying one of the bigger scopes, one with an ~80mm objective lens. It's also worth buying an ED/APO/FL scope if you can afford to as this will give a better image than a standard glass one.

As for which is the best this is a matter of opinion and the best thing to do is to try them for yourself and see which suits you. The ones I'd recommend comparing are Leica APO 77, Swarovski 80HD, Zeiss 85FL, Nikon 82ED and the Kowa 823/824. All are excellent scopes and I'm sure you'd be happy with any of them, however there are little differenecs so it is best to try them all. The Swarovski and the Nikon both have barrel focus, while the Leica and the Zeiss have a twin focus wheel system and the Kowa has a single small focus wheel.

All are optically superb, so it just comes dwn to personal preference and I doubt anyone on here could honestly claim that one is better than the others.