• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

security and backups (1 Viewer)

jape

i am not an expert but have some experience and when i ran a computer store i saw many problems that impacted on people and business in various ways. some were quite devastating.

take heed of andy's warnings in the sticky at the top of the thread

do not be complacent, many hoaxes and spam out there which go nowhere or are designed to suck you in but also there are real attempts to hack or control various aspects of your digital life and not to your benefit.

first of all, all systems are vulnerable whether PC, using win, mac or linux or a smartphone. this is because although a particular operating system may be designed diferently and less at risk, your usage and storage of digital data varies and is out there in many forms, from emails, atachments, sign in or log in credentials, networking, website cookies and caching to backups and copies in many varieties.

another consideration is personal trust. as an example, of course you trust your wife or partner or children: however i have seen disaster arising from simply allowing access to a your system when the trust breaks down. the causes are not always the unfortunate breakdown of a marriage, i have seen and helped people regain control after a child got drug addicted, after a partner's laptop was left at work, after a spouse of a friend was terminally ill and got into severe financial trouble gambling to try and gain money for her children. so it is not always nasty hackers from foreign countries it can be misfortune.