• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

"Immersion" - What Price Glory? (1 Viewer)

I've read numerous viewers' writings about the "immersive" experience of a fine pair of binoculars: the sensation of a direct link between the scene and the viewer, with no device in between. I've had limited direct experience of such a phenomenon, and would like to ask what binoculars give you that feeling.

Allied with, and probably components of, "immersion" are stereoscopic effect, field of view, and depth of field. Do you agree?

Can you tell me which bins, in your experience, have the qualities of immersion? Maybe this will give me an idea of where to search for this experience, and what it might cost. No doubt the top price models share this attribute, but is that the only place it can it be found?

I think immersion can mean slightly different things to different people. For example for the binos to seem to disappear, some folks need them to have very balanced/controlled distortions, others emphasise freedom from chromatic aberration or need sharpness all the way to the edge, while still others cite a large field of view.

I am one of the latter. If a bino has a narrow field of view then the 'tunnel vision' constantly reminds me I am looking through binos. If the field of view is wider then its a different and immersive world.

Once I get up to 130 -135m at 1,000m and wider I am in that immersive world so quite a few good quality 8x32s do the trick (Meopta B1 8x32, Kowa Genesis 8x33, Opticron Traveller 8x32, Zeiss FL 8x32, Zeiss Conquest HD 8x32) and Zeiss's SF 8x42 with 148m and 8x is terrific.