• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Seeing more moths... (1 Viewer)

Andy1979

I have been moth-ing since 2005 (very slowly at first and increasingly so nowadays). Most of my time has been spent in Kent with fairly frequent trips to Dorset. I have now recorded over 1000 species of moth (macro and micro and leafmine/early stage etc).

Things naturally slow down and new species become less frequent with the more you see. So how can I up my species list with visits outside of Kent? I would love to do the Highlands one spring, but what other speciality sites might offer a good increase in species numbers without needing to trap regularly?

Cheers,

Andy M

The obvious thing to do, as with birds, would be to trap a range of habitats. Here in Russia, I live amidst mixed Pine / Birch forest and heath / bog and I get some speciality species that I just wouldn't get in any other habitat.

Andy

Are you running your own traps off generators? If so, how many?

In no particular order:-
(1) maximising your coverage when you trap;
(2) joining events and field trips to take advantage of local knowledge and broader coverage; &
(3) finding out good local habitat where locations/reserves will welcome records.

That said, 1,000 is a lot of moths so any increase will be incremental.

All the best

With 1000 already under the belt it may be time to start targeting species or habitats: get the guides out and read up on the ones you haven't got.

Establish:

- what habitat you should be in
- where that is
- flight periods especially maximum numbers