• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help needed ~ Zoom eyepiece for vintage spotter (1 Viewer)

ctom99

Hello - I have a vintage (early 80s) spotting scope that has sentimental value to me in that it was a gift from my wife when I was a poor college student. It's a fixed power Japanese made 25x60mm Tasco World Class model 25T. At the time, Tasco offered a variety of accessory eyepieces for the scope. Here's an old print advertisement I found that describes the spotter and its accessories.

I'm interested in finding out whether someone here could point me to a vendor that might have a used 20-45X Tasco eyepiece (model 6651).

Alternatively, I'd like to know whether you all think I could possibly mount a currently available zoom eyepiece by a different manufacturer on this scope. Thanks in advance for the assistance!

Attachments

• 1980 ~ Tasco 25T Spotting Scope, low res.jpg
    1980 ~ Tasco 25T Spotting Scope, low res.jpg
    200.6 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:
Hi and welcome.

Probably just as cheap to find another similar scope with the zoom eyepiece and use that eyepiece on your scope.

Otherwise, what is the internal size of the eyepiece mount on the body?
Is it screw thread or bayonet?

It may be that an old Opticron zoom eyepiece might fit.

Regards,
B.

Otherwise, what is the internal size of the eyepiece mount on the body? Is it screw thread or bayonet? It may be that an old Opticron zoom eyepiece might fit.

Binastro - appreciate the reply. The scope takes threaded eyepieces, and I measured the ID of the threads at 1.088" or 27.64mm. Does that ring a bell for you? Thanks.