• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello, and a little advice please. (1 Viewer)

bob hastie

Hello everyone, I've heard a lot about this site but only got round to looking at it tonight. Impressed would be an understatment!
As I'm quite new to birding (having been keen as a boy its taken me 25 years to get back into it) i could do with some advise on buying my first scope. I am looking at spending about £600 and was thinking of getting an Opticron ES80 GA ED has any one got any comments on this scope or any suggestions for another option if not this one, remembering that the bugget has to cover scope, case, eyepiece and tripod. Also I was going to wait until the birdfair at rutland before I buy it in case I can pick up a 'show special'.
Many thanks
bob

Hello bob and on behalf of the staff here at BirdForum.net, a warm welcome to you.

Have you had a chance to check out the optics Forum off the first page here? I know quite a few use the Opticron ES80, but there are probably a few scopes you can choose between and there is boatload of info on all the scopes in that forum. Thank you also for taking a moment to say hello to us.

Hi Bob, welcome to birdforum, glad you found us. As K.C says, there's no shortage of information on scopes in the scopes forum... and posting a question down there will provoke an avalance of good advise from other members.
regards,
Andy

Hi Bob,

I own an Opticron ES80 scope with 20-60HDF eyepiece and bought this new for (spookily enough!) £600, inc 2nd hand Swarowski tripod and Opticron stay-on case.