• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Absolute Newbie (1 Viewer)

Timberdoodler

I know little to nothing about photography, but I recently attained a Sony FD Mavica digital camera for practically nothing. Photos as references are essential as an illustrator, so I'm hoping to eventually become a better photographer so I have better references.

In any scenario, what would you equip a newbie like me with to get me started?

Attached are a few photos I took of some domestic ducks on a local pond. Any input, critical or otherwise would be greatly appriciated. Please mind the fact that I'm new at this.

Attachments

• dd1.jpg
    dd1.jpg
    23.9 KB · Views: 170
  • dd2.jpg
    dd2.jpg
    29 KB · Views: 175
  • dd3.jpg
    dd3.jpg
    14 KB · Views: 174
As the Wimbledon umpire said to the linesman "Are you sure?" That is, are you sure you want to take on photographing wildlife? Had a look through your previous posts and seems like you have your lap pretty full at the moment :news: Even if you're only looking at a rather casual approach to photography (which perhaps would not give results that would satisfy you particularly in such a demanding genre), couldn't this still distract your focus in some way from your artwork and observations? The photography side of things would require extra time, effort, money and an extra piece of kit to drag around. Maybe good bins, scope and sketchpad are more the tools in trade of a wildlife artist than a camera these days? These are all speculations by me of course and perhaps some amount of paranoia :smoke: