• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon 5D versus Canon 20D (1 Viewer)

Barry Boswell

I have been digiscoping for about a year and a half in the UK. I have got some very acceptable results, but mainly I have had a huge amount of fun out of it.

I am seriously thinking of trying bird photography using a Canon DSLR with Canon lenses. I have never used a DSLR camera before. I have read lots of threads on the relative merits of various lenses and am fairly clear as what I want. I was planning to buy a Canon 20D, but I would really welcome any informed opinion on whether it would be worth spending the extra on the newer 5D. Do the extra megapixels and the full frame represent any real advantage (with long focal length lenses)?

Barry Boswell.

I think you would be well advised to wait awhile (3 or 4 months?) if you decide on the 20D. The 20D is very likely to be replaced in 2006, considering how old a model it is.

To answer your question, a full-frame sensor is a DISadvantage for photograhy like bird photography, where you need as much magnification as you can get. You lose the 1.6 sensor factor - e.g. a 400mm lens is a 400mm lens with the 5D, whereas it is a 640mm lens with the 20D.

Last edited: