• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ATS 80 or ATS 65 (1 Viewer)

dutchderk

Hello,

I'm new to digiscoping and the owner of a CP 4500. I've read some about digiscoping and am wondering whether the Swarovski ATS 65 HD is nearly as good as the ATS 80 HD. I know that the 80 mm lens gives more brightness. But do you see a difference if you use the ATS 65 HD in daylight? Does anybody have experience with the ATS 65 HD?

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I'm not quite clear, have you got an 80? I would be interested to hear how you are getting on with digiscoping, as I am about to buy some equipment myself.

Andy Bright will able to give you some advice, I'm sure.

Best of luck!

I've no scope yet. I'm not sure what to buy. The ATS 65 is smaller and lighter but the brightness is lower especially at strong magnifications because the diameter of the objective is 15mm smaller. But do you see that difference under daylight circumstances?
Derk

hello my friend from The Hague, I have a Swaro 65mm HD/30mm wide eye-piece and consider it the best thing since sliced bread, I'm sure that our Austrian optics makers would have made the 80mm to the same quality and build specifications. I think the choice will be size/weight and whether you birdwatch in very low-light, twilight conditions. The eye-pieces are the same therefore the extra body size will capture more light, probably an advantage for digiscopers. As for good weather conditions I doubt you will see any difference at all.

Have fun

Paul