• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Flycatcher Miami Florida (1 Viewer)

BirdingDoc

BirdingDoc
I photographed this flycatcher in the tropical hardwoods at Matheson Hammock County Park, South Miami, on 15 February. There was no hindcrown as would be seen with an Eastern Phoebe and the belly was more yellow than I expected for that species. There was no tail bobbing or other special motions, apart from flying away. I'm not good at flycatchers. Is it just an Eastern Phoebe on a bad hair day? Help, please??

Attachments

• Miami Flycatcher.jpg
    Miami Flycatcher.jpg
    116.5 KB · Views: 159
Eastern Phoebe to me, I've seen them with more yellow than shown in your pic and the hind crown is variable with posture

I agree,

This is clearly a Myiarchus flycatcher, and clearly not great or brown crested....

Did you hear it call?

Seán

Oops, should have looked more closely rather than IDing from the thumbnail. Can't help with separating Myiarchus, only ever seen Great Crested

Your bird has to be a La Sagra's or Ash-Throated, although I do not have field-experience with either species so cannot comment in any further detail. Either one would be (or would have been) a good bird for the area though.

Seán.