• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birds News Services for Beginners? (1 Viewer)

bongofury

I am a relative beginner and enjoy getting out to see different birds. There are still lots of common birds I have yet to connect with, but I enjoy getting out to see rarer ones as they pass through my local area.

However, I do not have the time or money to travel more than an hour away, whether it be an Eastern Crowned or Rufous Turtle Dove.

I use Bird Guides free service which at least gives me an indication of what is about and if the bird(s) are at a known reserve then its reasonably simple to go to the reserve and get pointers from folk already there. If the bird(s) are simply listed as a town or city then its obviously a lot more tricky.

I know that the information is obtainable through registering with the news services, but at £40 a year for RBA's web access, I really think this is too high a price for how much I will use it. RBA claim this is 11p per day, but realistically, I will use it max 20 days per year as that is about the amount of time I can find to go birding.

What I was wondering if the news services offered a cheaper service, say £20 a year that gave access to a limited amount of 'county' info. For example you register up to 3 county areas that you want to see info for and it auto filters to this info only.

I was wondering if this might cause full subscribers to downgrade their membership, or if it would encourage more people like myself, to pay towards the services, rather than relying on word of mouth or scouring message boards?