• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birds have disappeared from our neighborhood (1 Viewer)

DTaggert

Good morning, I've been feeding birds for many years and we usually have a couple of dozen birds in our yard at any given time - plus a few freeloading squirrels. This summer raccoons started attacking our feeders so I left them empty for two or three months. I put them back up a couple of weeks ago, but I've only seen a couple of birds and one very skittish squirrel (they usually travel in a pack of 5 or 6). This morning, I realized I haven't even heard birds singing in the mornings lately.

Our neighbor started raising chickens this spring and lost entire flock to coyotes who attacked his coops. He's now let the two surviving roosters wander free range. There's a huge field behind our houses and none of our yards are fenced so the roosters are frequently scratching around our feeders. The roosters have claimed a couple of trees that catbirds used to nest in. I'm pretty sure the roosters are scaring off the squirrels, but could they be scaring off the songbirds as well?

Not sure about your situation, they might've all got scared away by the raccoons and coyotes? I do know right now we are right at the beginning of fall harvest, and theres tons of berries, seeds, nuts, fruits ready to eat. Birds will naturally flock to everything they can get in the wild, instead of our backyard buffets. I always take this time to clean all my feeders and give them a really good soaking. The feeding areas I give them a good cleaning as well.