• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Crake Romania (1 Viewer)

Pavel

Please help ID, juvenile Crake from yesterday, South Romanian Black Sea coast.

Attachments

• Crakes.jpg
    Crakes.jpg
    233.7 KB · Views: 401
I have no books to hand but haven't you got two crakes there - baillons and little, maybe. Like I say no books to hand, no real experience of crakes. As I remember the bill is the key with juvs... Sorry haven't helped much...

reduced banding on upper breast and many visible primaries should make it a Little as the adult behind, but I have little experience with the species

I have no books to hand but haven't you got two crakes there - baillons and little, maybe. Like I say no books to hand, no real experience of crakes. As I remember the bill is the key with juvs... Sorry haven't helped much...

Thanks for your comment (merci beaucoup) - no real experience either (seen once in Corsica)!