• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

'Ticks' (1 Viewer)

Alan13

Many thanks to those that took the time to explain things to a complete beginner in my post below.
This next question may sound as though I have completely flipped, but here goes.

These 'Ticks' people talk about getting, or putting. Where actually do they put them ?
Are there special books with lists of birds, with a little tick box at the side,
other than the normal identification books ?

Hope this is not too basic for you all, :^)

Alan

There's no set way. Some people put the tick in their field guide. The old Peterson, Mountfort and Hollom field guide has a species list with room to put a tick against the names. So do one or two others I think. Some people simply tick the name in the index. Others keep a list as a Word document or Excel spreasheet. Personally I have an Access database for my bird records and enter my ticks on that.

Jason

I use a British Ornithologists Union Checklist that comes free with certain magazines. Nice little convenient boxes to tick.

Your question set me re-thinking on this though. Ticking birds when you see them (and travelling vast distances to do so) is akin to ticking off trains when spotted (not an original observation I know!). But why are both these pastimes predominantly (98%?) male??

What is it about us??

Should this be another thread?

Laurence