• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Celestron Regal 100 mm or 80 mm Spotting Scope? (1 Viewer)

I was wondering if any of the members here have used these scopes, and if so, what is your opinion of these. What are they comparable to? Which model will give the clearest view? I would like to purchase a higher quality ED spotter and stay under $1000.

Any other info would be greatly appreciated, as I can't seem to find but very little commentary on these 2 models, and none are easily available to look through. Thanks, Bill

I don't have the Regal but I do have the Ultima 100 ED. I am no expert but I think it is not bad at all. Main compromise is the quality of the eyepiece & I have added a Baader Hyperion Zoom which for viewing comfort is as good as the Swarovski & Zeiss scopes I tried.
It is very heavy though & the Regal version is even heavier.

If you want an honest answer - and I was an owner... Celestron designers flubbed the design. Optically the scope performs very well but it is just too darn heavy. Compare to other scopes of similar size.

As a price conscious purchase, the Pentax 65ED almost cannot be beat. There is an 80mm version as well.

As for a 100mm scope, that's a personal thing. But I would limit that to stationary use or for very serious dslr use on longer distances, ie more specialized use.

Last edited:
Hello,
I am looking for a big scope as I am an birder-astronomer observer, and I like the possibility of use others eyepiece of 1.25" like with the celestron Regal.

Anyone know the difference between the Opticron ES 100 ED and the Regal 100 Apo?