• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

World Yearlist Record Attempt (1 Viewer)

Paul Chapman

I only noticed this attempt this evening and I have no world birding experience but a simple comparison of the Distribution of Bird Species map in the inside cover of my copy of Clements makes the route seem pretty optimal:-

http://noahstrycker.com/

http://www.audubon.org/features/birding-without-borders

He is looking to 'crush' the record of 4,341 species. That said, in this photo, he does not appear to be wearing bins:-

http://www.audubon.org/news/day-96-sugar-highs

I've done the odd twitch without binoculars at short notice. I hope he's remembered them. Looking forward to having a good look around the website and blog.

All the best

I get the feeling this total could be pretty hard work to beat if he gets to the end of year as planned. On the back of an envelope, I had a look at the breakdown of species by continent in the current record:-

Antarctica - no days - 0
South America - 84 days - 1,388
North America - 41 days - 695 (125 days - 2,083)
Europe - 84 days - 250 (209 days - 2,333)
Africa - 86 days - 1,092 (295 days - 3,425)
Asia - 41 days - 508 (336 days - 3,933)
Australasia - 30 days - 408 (366 days - 4,341)
Total - 366 days - 4,341

On the same envelope, this was my estimate of this plan:-

Antarctica - 7 days - 53
South America - 95 days - 1,908 (99 days - 1,961 so far)
North America - 57 days (159 days)
Europe - 16 days (175 days)
Africa - 78 days (253 days)
Asia - 91 days (344 days)
Australasia - 21 days (365 days)
Total - 365 days