• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sony Nex 7 for Digiscoping (1 Viewer)

Neil

I've been waiting for an excuse to get the nex 7 since it's launch about 1 year ago. http://www.dpreview.com/products/sony/slrs/sony_nex7
I've enjoyed the Nex 5 but wanted an electronic viewfinder and better video options. The extra megapixels doesn't hurt either.
I plan to match it up the the Zeiss Nex 24/1.8 lens for digiscoping.
I'll start posting some images early next week when the typhoon which is almost upon us , passes by.
Neil

I've been using the nex 7 for a a couple of months now Neil, and I must say I rather like it. Once you have the buttons set up the way you like them, I think you'll find it a rather quick camera to use. The extra megapixels give plenty of extra cropping also 8)

one reason that I'm interested in the nex 7 is the focus peaking as I think think could be extremely useful . Hanve you used it much Neil and if so what's your opinion please ?

Les,
We are just getting over a typhoon here and it's been raining since I got the camera. I can tell you it's weather proof as it's been wet several times already with no problems.
I did a quick test yesterday of the Digital Zoom to test it's digiscoping with the kit zoom 18-55 zoom, which can work with a long eye relief eyepiece, eg Kowa 25x LER. This was equivalent of 104 mm ( 1.5x dig zoom).
I will prefer the Sigma 30/2.8 or a MF 35/50 mm lens which I will test soon.
Neil

Hong Kong,
July 2012

Attachments

• pied avocet nex7 kw25x Vign_DSC0725.jpg
    pied avocet nex7 kw25x Vign_DSC0725.jpg
    363.7 KB · Views: 812