• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Moth ID help, Scotland (1 Viewer)

thomasclark1985

Hi,

Last week I tried out my homemade moth trap for the first time, whilst away in Scotland. Armed with my moth guide I managed to ID just a few of them, (which took hours thumbing through the pages, from front to back repeatedly as I am a total beginner!) and there were many I couldn't ID, so can anyone help with these please?

Cheers,

Tom

Attachments

• IMG_8281.jpg
    IMG_8281.jpg
    64.4 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_8284.jpg
    IMG_8284.jpg
    23.5 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_8286.jpg
    IMG_8286.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_8287.jpg
    IMG_8287.jpg
    52.9 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_8290.jpg
    IMG_8290.jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 18
Thanks guys.

Just another question, when trying to attach some photo's I have difficulty trying to keep within the dimension limits. Most photos I can crop which solves it, but others are already too zoomed in that cropping means I lose half of the photo, is there a quick/easy way of solving this?

A few more

Thanks Andy, that's sorted it. Here are a few more. Am I right on any of these?

1) Lead-coloured drab
2) Brown silver-line
3) Streamer
4) Grey birch
5) Engrailed, again.

Cheers,

Tom

Attachments

• IMG_8288.jpg
    IMG_8288.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 14
  • rsz_p1000569.jpg
    rsz_p1000569.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 13
  • rsz_p1000487.jpg
    rsz_p1000487.jpg
    122.1 KB · Views: 12
  • rsz_p1000566.jpg
    rsz_p1000566.jpg
    142 KB · Views: 16
  • rsz_p1000544.jpg
    rsz_p1000544.jpg
    195.8 KB · Views: 10
Nailed em all mate, talented beginner!