• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help with bird ID (1 Viewer)

rodrigosacic

Hi everyone,

I work as a sound editor for film and tv. Today I came across with this recording of a bird. I like the sound, but the recording is terrible. So I need to identificate the bird in order to search for new better sounds of it. Could you help me with this? The sound is attached below. Thank you in advance

Attachments

• PASSARO.mp3
    424.8 KB · Views: 58
Welcome to BirdForum. Can you say anything more about the recording and whether any information was provided with it e.g. the approximate location?

Welcome to BirdForum. Can you say anything more about the recording and whether any information was provided with it e.g. the approximate location?

Thank you Andrew!

That's a sound that came from the picture editor. The film in which it is used takes place in Brazil, but I can't confirm that the bird recording is from there as well.

@rodrigosasic

The xeno-canto.org site might be a good place to search for better recordings of Eastern Whip-poor-will (and many other bird sounds).

https://www.xeno-canto.org/species/Antrostomus-vociferus

Has over 80 foreground recordings of the species of varying length and quality. Details of the people who made the recordings are shown so you could contact the owners should you need too for accreditation etc.

It is a cool sounding bird, but if you are doing sound for a film set in Brazil you might want to choose something else; Eastern Whip-poor-will does not occur there.

Sounds like an Eastern Whip-poor-will.