• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is there a 'best' bridge/superzoom camera for birders? (1 Viewer)

Ben Markham

I've been using a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ7 for 2-3 years now, and the main problem I have with it is its small zoom, 12x optical to be exact.

So I've read into bridge/superzoom cameras and cannot decide which is best for me. It will mostly be used for taking photographs of birds, so I seek the help of other birders.

Which bridge camera should I buy then? I've narrowed what I consider the best and latest down to the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150, the Nikon Coolpix P510, the Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR, the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS and the Sony Cyber Shot DSC HX200V.

I've heard greats things of the Canon SX40, is it a cut above the rest for taking pictures of birds at long-range?