• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

My first field sketch (1 Viewer)

Taco

This year I am going to enter the American Birding Associations young birder of the year contest. One of the things that needs to be entered for the overall YBY is a field notebook. I have drawn a little from field guides, but not tried it outside with the real bird. Heres my first attempt, plaese give me some tips! Feel free to say stuff like "wow thats bad, take a drawing class," I am just starting out so I would like any tips that might help. I was also wondering if about if it is "moraly" correct to touch-up the picture after I get back from birding. Thanks a bunch!

I thought that I would try a close bird for starters, so I sketched this American Wigeon, which was in the floodings at Maple River SGA in lower Michigan.

Taco

Attachments

• sketch2.JPG
    sketch2.JPG
    244.1 KB · Views: 311
Last edited:
Hi Taco,
That's certainly not bad for a first effort from life!One can certainly identify the bird from the sketch,which is presumably something that they'll be looking for,as it's not an ART competition.Some of mine are worse than this(others are better,I'm very inconsistent!):must post some here some day(good for a laugh anyway!)
Harry

As Harry says, there's nothing wrong with the sketch! You can certainly id it as a Wigeon! You should see some of my outdoor stuff!!! Indoors I'm fine but when it comes to quickly sketching something that could fly off at any moment...well, my scribbles are pathetic! Need a lot more practice I think!

GILL

Hi Taco,

Nice start!