• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cuckoo, September (1 Viewer)

Earnest lad

Please can anyone advise if the bird attached is a juvenile or adult, male or female?
Thanks and best wishes
Ian

Attachments

• File 496.jpg
    File 496.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 120
Yes I’ve seen “hepatic” Cuckoo in Cyprus during April, don’t know what the incidence might be during September in the UK...?

The question EL asked was about how to separate adults from juveniles Ken.

I'm no expert, but this paper (http://www.jolyon.co.uk/research/publications/Kolecek%20et%20al%202018%20cuckoo%20chick%20colour.pdf) indicates that in eastern Europe as many as 25% of adult females are rufous in colour.

Sample size in that study was not huge, but in the following link, there is an indication that in Germany at least 14% of females could be rufous: https://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=245275

The incidents of such rufous/brown adults in September is perhaps a topic for another debate, but for sure, the presence of brown tones in Common Cuckoos is no way to separate adults from juveniles.

This link seems to indicate that subtle brown tones are much more common in adult females than the field guides would have us believe, since they typically only illustrate grey adult males: https://www.flickr.com/photos/timmelling/42121491431

Last edited:
basically the broad white fringes.

just to add to the most obvious feature mentioned by Lou, also juveniles have dark irises (turning to bright yellow in adults) as photo shows, along with pale patch on the nape which is quite visible in the field.