• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help for Oldham Area (1 Viewer)

Froggy

Hi folks I am looking for recommendations for the Oldham and surrounding area .
Also any advice for security too .

I am new to birding , was drawn in to it from my photography hobby , and as such I am loving the challenge of capturing birds and birds in flight .
Almost there with my kit , I think ... so any advice there is very gratefully received .

Advice for best approach is welcome too , I have been hiking moorland etc with camera kit trying to find birds .
Just realised that this may not be the best approach and now try and watch the habits of the birds to identify "good spots" , get there at dawn and settle down to wait for activity .
to the above , I have only just got some camo clothing , been walking around in jeans and a modern nylon type coat (doh!) .
Will get some camo scrim netting to cover head and white lens soon too .

Lastly , I am worried about some of the unsavoury human wildlife that sometime frequent the countryside in these areas , especially as I am carrying some expensive camera kit .
Have any of you similar concerns or advice to offer in regard to this ?

Wow that's an awful lot to ask , sorry about that .
I am so grateful for any help you can offer me with my start out at my new hobby :) .

Its not nice going out by yourself I do this often but am always looking over my shoulder, and like you carrying expensive gear around is a problem and always will be that’s why I try and go with a friend but this is not always possible :(