• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping Cameras ? (1 Viewer)

Ridge Walker

Hello All. I'm a complete newbie wanting to get into Digiscoping. So I'm looking for a suitable camera. Came on here for help, but still confused. I understand all the principles involved, but still worried ending up with an unsuitable camera.
Couldn't there be a list/sticky somewhere with a list of good cameras/bad cameras be more helpful to people such as me :t:

Last edited:
Hello All. I'm a complete newbie wanting to get into Digiscoping. So I'm looking for a suitable camera. Came on here for help, but still confused. I understand all the principles involved, but still worried ending up with an unsuitable camera.
Couldn't there be a list/sticky somewhere with a list of good cameras/bad cameras be more helpful to people such as me :t:

If you look down the first page of the Digiscoping Camera Forum you'll see many of the current cameras that people are using e.g. Nikon V1/2,P330,Sony RX 100/100M2,Nex 5/6/7, Panasonic GX7 and other Gseries. Any DSLR with 35/50 mm lens will work but I find them a bit heavy to use on a scope.
Budget and brand preference will play a part in most decisions.
Neil.

camera

Update!
Thanks for your comments. I just bought a Fuji Finepix AV180 15MP, 3x optical zoom, off the bay for the princely price of £14 posted :t:

Just hope it suitable

Update!
Thanks for your comments. I just bought a Fuji Finepix AV180 15MP, 3x optical zoom, off the bay for the princely price of £14 posted :t:

Just hope it suitable