• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Juvenile Grey Butcherbird (1 Viewer)

Hi all...I'm a newbie.

Is it normal for these young birds to be so friendly with humans? Mine (who is just called butcherbird because I don't know what sex it is) has been coming for food for 2 weeks. It started with him hanging upside down from the gutter looking at me, then the next day it landed on a chair only 3' away. Now he pops in regularly...and sometimes he's not hungry...he just wants to sing, talk, sing, talk and talk and talk till my eyes are glazing over. |8.|

Yesterday I heard my 94 year old mum, who was sitting in the lounge room, say "Hello butcherbird." I went to the room and there was the bird on a dining room chair, calm as anything. I spoke to him then went to close the doors to the other rooms. He went outside and waited in his usual spot for food.

Mum later said..."This isn't the first time he's been in!!!!" :eek!:

Seems a bit bizarre, but mum said that when she was a girl they had a friendly butcherbird too.

I had one in Central Vic. bush where they are not all that common as books suggest, maybe because of maggies I think. Or at least near us we had very aggressive maggies would take anything on, even wedgies.

It didn't come into house but would sit on verandah furniture or rail just a couple of yards away from us while we had a coldie and would hang lizards and birds and even plums it caught or stole on nails meant to be used for my archery gear and tools!