• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help with Ecuador (1 Viewer)

Chas 100

I am visiting Ecuador in September for only 9 days. I am a serious/keen photographer and a lifelong birder. I originally saw the trip as a reccee really but I thought I would at least see a few hummingbirds to photograph and every bird I do see will be a lifer. I have arranged accommodation near Quito and was going to day trip with perhaps an overnight stay or 2 somewhere else. I am starting to get cold feet as they say. It all seems so massive. I am going to use Taxi's to get around. So for example, I arrive in Mindo and want to photograph some birds there, will I be totally bewildered or will I be able to find somewhere quiet to get some photographs for my bird galleries? I would appreciate any comments/advice. Incidentally, I am a bit unsure about the lodge situations where it seems that dozens of people seem to cluster around feeding stations, all seems a bit like a zoo.

Mindo is probably as good a place to go as any. I was there in April and didn't see all that many other birders or photographers, although it's not peak season then. There are lots of places to go, so I suspect it doesn't often get too crowded. Are you mostly interested in photographing hummingbirds or are there are types of birds you'd like to get?

For a wide variety of photography, I'd recommend this place near Mindo:
http://www.birdwatchershouse.com/

Thanks Andrew