• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Why Hummingbird stop coming to my feeder? (1 Viewer)

nicekazi

I am new in Texas. Actually I fallen love here, because here lots of birds comes to my yard, which make me feel happy. One day I saw one of my neighbors put hummingbird feeder. Then I am also put hummingbird feeder to my yard. After 2-3 days later humming bird use to come to my feeder. They started coming from March end or April first week. First he (ruby throated) use to come 30 to 45 min interval. Then 10-15 min interval. And another humming bird (I don’t know the name) use to come also. Ruby throated hammer use to sit nearby tree branch (which I can see easily from my yard) after 5-10 min interval he comes to feeder and drink. Suddenly one day I found that they are fighting each other. The hammer that used to sit nearby tree, he waits for another hammer and when he coming that time they are fighting. From next day that Ruby throated hammer stop coming to feeder. And he never comes back again. Another hammer use to come but after one week later he also stop coming. From May first week they stop coming. I don’t know why they are not coming? Is they are died? Or hummingbird migrates to other state? Still I am waiting for them. I don’t know when they come back.
I miss them :(

Locally breeding hummers often stop coming to backyard feeders during the "summer" months when they're occupied with nesting. You should see them again--including the fledged young-of-the-year--in the late summer/fall. Spring and fall are also when migrants--non-locally breeding hummers--come through.