• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Starting a Birding library (1 Viewer)

romancitizen

I am fairly new to birding,and am about to start buying some books on the subject, the anniversary of my birth being imminent. Can experts amongst you recommend a basic 'required reading' list.

I have a copy of Collins for out in the field, also have Gerard Gorman's recent book on Woodpeckers.

Forsman's book on Raptors has been recomended to me, but what about other groups of birds - Owls for instance ?

Is a book like 'Birds in England', Poyser's recent offering, worth buying, or is it too generalised ?

As I am just starting, I do not anticipate birding outside of Europe, at least for the time being, so 'World' books are not required (unless 'best in breed').

Last edited:
'Birds in England' would cerainly be useful in any English birder's library, as it puts everything in context so well.

I would also get the large edition of the Collins birdguide, as well as the field guide version that you have.

Beyond that it depends on your fields of interest. A world birder's library (mine anyway) fills seven book cases and more!!

Steve

For World birds the by now rather famous series "Handbook of the Birds of the World" would be very difficult to beat. It's an ongoing project that I truly can recommend - the problem is that the price may put you off if you're just getting started...