• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Better quality with Opt. or Dig. zoom? (1 Viewer)

samdennis1675

I just got a Kodak z915 camera with 10X optical zoom and 5X Digital zoom. Obviously for wildlife I want the closest view. My question is is it better to use the 10X optical zoom and crop the photo, or will final quality probably be better using the digital zoom? Is there a rule of thumb for that? I have lots of experience with film (35mm) cameras, but this is my first digital camera. Thanks.

I found with my Fuji s5600 I got better image quality cropping the optical zoom shot rather than using the digital zoom.
So I would say don't digi-zoom just crop.

Optical zoom is real magnification, achieved with glass (the lens) that does project a larger image onto the sensor. Optical zoom is good.

Speaking in general terms, without reference to any camera in particular, digital zoom is a faked magnification, with the camera doing a crop internally and then (possibly) buggering up your file to try to invent enough pixels to give you a file as large (in total pixels) as one without the digital zoom. At its best, digital zoom will probably accomplish nothing that you cannot do for yourself in editing software. At its worst it will do things to your file that you would really wish it hadn't. Almost certainly you should avoid digital zoom like the plague.

I agree with the others, that a crop done afterwards will be better. As a rule, save a copy of the edited image: if you later get better at processing images, you can go back and improve the edited version if the original still exists.

Niels