• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon D90 + Vixen ED81S ? (1 Viewer)

Hi

I'm new to bird photo currently own a sigma 50-500 OS but I wish to have more reach. I'm currently in the market for a telescope, my local store have two ED in stock

Astronomy Technologies Astro-Tech AT72ED 72mm f/6 ED doublet refractor $500

or

Vixen Optics ED81S Telescope

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/657219-USA/Vixen_Optics_5864_ED81S_Telescope.html

including

Vixen Optics f/5.2 Focal Reducer for the ED81S
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/530638-REG/Vixen_Optics_3666_f_5_2_Focal_Reducer_for.html

for $960

been taking macro pictures therefore I already have two sets of extension tube by Kenko Auto Extension Tube DG.

I will be getting T adapter for Nikon for $25

I'm looking for advice to what I needed to know when buying these telescope ? how do I test the image quality of these telescope (camera setting ISO, speed etc..)

Thank you very much for your time.

The astro tech is only 430mm focal length which is shorter than your Sigma lens. Probably FPL-51 galss which isn't as good as FPL-53 like we have in the Skywatcher 80ED.

If I had to pick between just these two I'd go for the Vixen which I think is FPL-53 glass. It's about the same weight as the Skywatcher 80ED and the Vixen comes with a carry handle as standard which helps when you are out and about.

Camera needs to be on full manual mode, ISO400 or 800 is about right. Use spot metering or centre weighted metering as a guide to shutter speed, generally though you might need to under expose a little to get the photo just right.