• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Do you use eBird? (1 Viewer)

Yeray

Yeray Seminario
Hi everyone,

I just posted a new entry on the Whitehawk blog about our collaboration with eBird.

In case you have never heard about eBird, we are talking about a real-time, online checklist program. You can read more about it here.

We would like to encourage all birders to enter their observations and contribute to this global project, for the benefit of the birding community and science. We will be posting several tutorials on the use of eBird soon.

Thanks!

Yeray

Hi Yeray,

I've been using it since 2007; makes my birding much more meaningful to know the results are recorded for scientists and other birders to use. And it's very good at keeping track of my lists as well.

eBird has developed a pretty good following in the Western Hemisphere (though I personally won't be satisfied until all birders use it), but is just getting started in the Eastern Hemisphere. So I am heartened to see you and Whitehawk supporting it in Spain. Hope others from your area will also consider using it.

Cheers,
Jim

I use it as it allows me to keep my records in one place no matter where I might have been birding in Western Palearctic or even elsewhere outside the British Isles.

I believe that there is collaboration presently going on between eBird and BTO/BirdTrack so that there can be interaction between the two systems, which is good news!

Tony

I think I read some of the studies will show which species of birds are commonly seen together with each other. I look forward to reading such results. :)