• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

French nature reserves (1 Viewer)

28vanelli

As I'm quite new to birdwatching, I'm looking to visit French nature reserves but I'm having difficulty finding the French version of places such as Martin Mere and Leighton Moss (sites run by English organisations such as the RSPB and the WWT).

I've found one called 'Les Sept Iles' off the Brittany coast that you can observe on a boat tour but everything else I've found has been about walks you can do to view birds, rather than protected sites you can visit with different habitats, feeders, a cafe/shop etc.

I bought a book 'Where to watch birds: France', but it mostly details walks, the majority of which require a car (and I'm a non driver).

Does anyone have any recommendations, be they reserves or useful sites? It can be anywhere in France (being from Liverpool there are multiple destinations served by low-cost airlines), so all suggestions are welcome!

Hi 28vanelli

Have you looked in Opus, you might find something there that suits you

D

That's a great start - as I say I'm not experienced enough to want to go after a particular bird or rarity, I'm just looking for reserves where I can see a good assortment of birds as part of a French holiday.

Sort of like shooting fish in a barrel, except with birds instead of fish.
And shooting with a camera, not a gun.