• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello everyone - I'm new to birdwatching. I've got my optics now Iooking for a tripod (1 Viewer)

Hi everyone, i just recently joined the forum! ;)

I bought my first spotting scope but now I'm looking for a lightweight and durable tripod to get. I was hoping that people could share the tripod that they use. I've read 1-2 blog and it seems like the Vortex line is pretty but I'm looking to read more forums. I understand that there isn't just one best tripod so thats why I want to hear what others use so I can see if I like it for myself.

budget would be less than 200$ i think i could get something decent

thanks everyone!

:t:

Welcome to Birdforum.

You don't state what scope you have bought but an adequate tripod and head are just as important as the scope itself. Another member here once stated: "Cheap, stable, lightweight -pick two." I think that is something of an optimistic exaggeration and unfortunately your only hope of getting something adequate within your budget is a second-hand bargain.

I had just been contemplating a new thread on "the weakest link in the chain" as I have come across a few examples in the field recently.
A birder with a €4000 Zeiss Harpia 95 had an excellent Gitzo Series 3 carbon fibre tripod but the lightweight Gitzo 2180 head that Jan Meijerink in his TVWG tests condemned years ago. When I zoomed up to 70x the view was rather jittery despite still air conditions.