• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Affordable 8x32 roof recommendations? (1 Viewer)

Labdad

I'd appreciate any recommendations for 8x32 (or possibly 8x30) waterproof roofs for consideration, with best optical performance subject to the following constraints:
• available in US
• $300 - $500
• ED glass
• phase-coated prisms
• minimum 7.5° FOV (395 ft @ 1000 yds)
• at least 25 year (preferably lifetime) warranty

I do not wear glasses while using bins.

I've been using Eagle Ranger SRT 8x32 for several years and have been mostly satisfied with them but the focus wheel is starting to intermittently stick and there are a bunch of flecks of debris visible when looking through each barrel from the objective end (junk on prisms?). Time to upgrade.

I recently tried the Nikon Monarch 7 8x30 and, though I had high expectations I had a hard time consistently getting a good view without blackouts in one eye or the other. Very unforgiving adjustments of IPD and position for me. Eye relief not right for me?

Interested to hear folks' recommendations in the hopes of building a short list (2 - 4 candidates) that I can order and compare side by side, then (hopefully) return all but one. Particularly curious about Zeiss Terras.

Thanks in advance.

Leupold Pro Guide 8x32 , $399 at B&H, made in Japan, lifetime warranty
Meopta Meopro 8x32
Kowa BD XD 8x32hec
GPO Passion ED 8x32, $299 at Costco under model name Spectra