• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spotting Scope 82 RAIII WP (1 Viewer)

spurven

I am new in birding and want to buy a "cheap" spotting scope that I can use for both birdwatching and later on also later on digiscoping.

I considere buying nikon Spotting Scope 82 RAIII WP.

But I can't find any test or other indepentent reviews of this scope. Does anybody have any experience with this one or have a good advice for a better scope for the same amount of money apr. 1000$ / 750 euro.

many thanks in advance for your replies!:t:

spurven
Hedmark
Norway

I dont think you will find a better scope in the $1000 range or even higher.
Another very good scope in the under $1000 is the pentax pf ed.
Brian.

Opticron scopes have decent optics at affordable prices and have their own dedicated digiscoping accesories + a complete kit (camera, adapter etc.). The ES 80 GA ED is a very popular scope over here, angled only though if that's a problem. I think they'd be your best bet if you can get them in Norway.

The RA III does not have ED glass which is quite important for digiscoping.

Hope I'm helping!
Adam

Last edited:
opticron

Thanks for replies.

I haven't found any pentax scopes over here. Can se if I can find a dealer and get some information about those.

I have looked also at the opticron scopes. But the ES GAS 80 ED with eye-piece goes a bit over my budget (costs apr. 1000 euro). But on the other side the scope I want to buy have to be at my comrade in many years to come. So if extending my budget a little will give me a much better scope I will consider this seriously.