• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tripods? (1 Viewer)

boznia

As an absolute beginner, could somebody tell me whether tripods are universal in their fit?

Would a tripod i bought off ebay work with both a scope and my minolta camera?

Hope you can help & Merry Christmas everybody.

Boznia,
Most tripods have a quick release mechanism whereby a plate (which comes with the tripod) is screwed into the bottom of the scope or camera and this plate with optic attached can be clipped to the tripod. The trick is to get one or two extra plates and put them on the various optics so that each can be clipped on at a moments notice. If you only have one plate, you have to unscrew it and put it on the other piece of optic. So, I have two plates permanently on the two bits of kit that I use the tripod for. That is what I do but others may have alternate suggestions.
Oh, BTW, the plates are not universal across all tripods.

Have a good Christmas

Colin

What Colin means is that most 'better quality' tripods have a separate locking plate.

I have had various tripods over the years but now solely use a Manfrotto 190 NAT with a 128 RC NAT fluid head. It is ideal for both camera and scope use as it is sturdy and not too heavy, though it is no lightweight. I'd steer clear of the lightweight tripods unless you are going for a decent carbon fibre one, which are a little expensive.

There used to be a couple of different sized tripod bushes, but that was many years ago. The scope and camera mounts that I have used over the last few years have all been a standard size.

Last edited: