• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Coney Meadow and Adjoining Areas (3 Viewers)

Woodchat

Cogito ergo sum
I thought I'd start a new thread for this relatively new wildlife reserve between Droitwich and Salwarpe. I've been birding the general area for the past 10 years (it's literally on my doorstep), although the centrepiece, 'Coney Meadow Reedbed', was only constructed in 2008 - as mitigation against loss of fringing reeds along the Droitwich canal when it was dredged to make it navigable. Since then, the wildlife interest has developed further and the whole area has a great deal of potential. The habitat includes a 2.5 hectare reedbed, grassland, scrub and thick hedgerows. It is bordered to the west and south by the River Salwarpe, to the east by the Droitwich Canal and to the north by 'Droitwich Woods NR'. Complimenting this variety of habitats is a small area of mature woodland, the churchyard and gardens of Salwarpe village plus farmland (permanent pasture and arable).