• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Common Nightingale? (1 Viewer)

Akshada

Hello. I have clicked this little one (almost of the size of a Great tit) in Dortmund, Germany in my garden on 15 September. I am not sure if it is a common nightingale or another bird altogether? I am new to birding so still learning to identify birds. Many thanks in advance!

Attachments

• DSCN4930-01-02.jpeg
    DSCN4930-01-02.jpeg
    70.1 KB · Views: 142
Hello. I have clicked this little one (almost of the size of a Great tit) in Dortmund, Germany in my garden on 15 September. I am not sure if it is a common nightingale or another bird altogether? I am new to birding so still learning to identify birds. Many thanks in advance!

Welcome Akshada

Your bird will be either a Willow Warbler or a Chiffchaff (the 2 commonest "leaf warblers"). At this time of year both have a lot of variation of plumage colour and leg colour.

The primary projection (the pointed part at the end of the closed wing) is longer in Willow Warbler and to me, the PP length looks better for Willow Warbler in this picture, though others may correct me on this.

I'd say Chiffchaff. The primary projection looks within the range for that species, and the legs are dark (Willow Warblers can occasionally have dark legs, but I don't think this is one). The pale lower eye ring is also a useful character for Chiffchaff.

And of course welcome to the forum!

Hi Akshada and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.