• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

If you were to buy a Canon DSLR on an extreme budget... (1 Viewer)

CalvinFold

An idea struck me that maybe, just maybe, this is possible. Well, at least later this year...

If you wanted to buy a Canon DLSR, with amateur and budget considerations in mind...what would you choose? And what lens?

And let's be super, super clear: I actually don't mind the SX60 I currently use, given what it is. And I don't plan to be a professional photographer, and I fully acknowledge I'm an amateur of the highest order. But I am also a pixel-jockey (Photoshop) and appreciate the quality of what a DSLR can produce.

So we're really talking about a DSLR for someone who knows his limits, knows his skill level, and is looking for a "prosumer" choice (since the old "prosumer" category seems to have vanished). For example, I love the setup of my girlfriend's Nikon D700, a lovely FX camera, but in helping her set it up, it nearly made my head explode from all the options. Far, far more DLSR than I'd ever need.

Conversely, I shoot in Tv mode on the SX60, fiddle with exposure compensation and ISO, etc. So "prosumer" is the best way to describe it...a smart camera that takes-over or second-guesses when I need it to ("idiot mode") and has semi-auto when I want to control some aspects but not others.

What I've learned using my Canon SX60 for a year that I'd like in a DSLR:

• I already have a Canon flash, so really is just easier and less expensive to get a Canon DSLR.