• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Camera for Galapagos (1 Viewer)

nutsie81

Hello, I'm very lucky and am going to the Galapagos at the end of June. Currently I own a compact zoom camera (not very good) and a 1.3 mp Fujifilm with 3x optical zoom (surprisingly good for £40 second hand!). I am thinking of investing in a new camera to take with me to the Galapagos. I thought as I have no experience of an SLR camera it would be prudent for me to buy a digital camera such as the Sony p10 which are light, small and can have filters and lenses fitted. Bearing in mind that on the Galapagos most things are quite near to you anyway the 2.5x telephoto lense and the macro lenses should serve me well there.

Has anyone any thoughts on this camera or any suggestions for better cameras? I know Fujifilm do some 6x optical zoom cameras but I don't know whether this would be necessary or whether the 3x optical zoom would suffice. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated but please remember I won't understand anything too technical!

I Think you need to look at what you will need on the Galapagos in the way of batteries etc.
Personally I would go for a camera that takes standard AA batteries take 3 or 4 sets of NMh rechargables+ as many packs of Duracells. I assume you can recharge somewhere?. Charger.
Plenty of Mb of memory cards, Compact Flash?. Do you own a Laptop?,Can you dump to someone elses laptop with a CD writer?. Card reader?.