• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to bird photography - advice needed (1 Viewer)

robbo23

I'm a novice to wild bird photography. Been taking photos for a couple of years but now have decided to go back to my main passion - birds!!

I have a Canon 40D and an EF 75-300mm zoom lense.

My main area for taking wild bird photo's is an estuary but im struggling to get close enough to take a decent shot.

could anyone please provide this novice with any advice i.e. technique/equipment/approach etc

Thank you

I'm a novice to wild bird photography. Been taking photos for a couple of years but now have decided to go back to my main passion - birds!!

My main area for taking wild bird photo's is an estuary but im struggling to get close enough to take a decent shot.

could anyone please provide this novice with any advice i.e. technique/equipment/approach etc

Thank you
Hi,
You could try either a 1.4x or 2x teleconverter on your lens (the 1.4x is usually better and keeps the autofocus etc) check out the Kenko one's
Also good solid tripod or monopod is very handy and also what about a pop hide? I use one from Ultimate Addons (Stevies on the forum) they are brilliant and now they have one with a built in seat!
Cheers
Brian

Thank you
Hey Robbo

I am sure you're aware of the ways to 'get closer' using lenses, teleconverters etc... but a little bit of advice I can offer is something I have recently discovered... grab yourself a superb hide. Here's mine:

http://www.reflectingme.com/p936087280/?photo=975254874