• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Trouble choosing a camera.... (1 Viewer)

Cruidín

Hi guys,

I'd appreciate if you could help me here. I've been photographing a small bit for many years but, to be honest, I'm still at a very basic level. I would greatly appreciate your advice here.

I have been using a Fujifilm Finepix S100fs for the past three or so years up until now. I have been quite happy with the results. It gives me enough (at present) for my needs, a nice memory of the birds and places I have seen. However, recently it got wet and is now not working. I have been told the cost to get it fixed would be about €150 so I was thinking of investing in a new camera instead.

My main photographic interest is birds. However, I also travel a lot and would like something that would suffice for that as well (Landscapes, Cities, nature, etc.).

The cameras I was particularly interested in are:

Canon EOS 650D (comes with 18-55mm lens and 55-250mm lens)
Nikon Coolpix P510
Fujifilm Finepix HS30
Canon Powershot SX50

I do not want to spend more than €1000 and, at present, there is no way I will fork out another €1000 for a better lens, as my experience is not worth it. However, I do want to improve my level of photography.

I would greatly appreciate any advice in helping me choose which one is best for my needs. Or should I just stick to my Fujifilm S100? Try stick to simplier language please as my head is still spinning from the mass of photography language out there.

Thank you very much.

B :)

Hi Cruidin,