• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to feeding -- does seed matter? (1 Viewer)

AJP

I'm relatively new to birdfeeding. Going to the store, there are so many "blends" of seed, each claiming to attract a different variety of birds. I do know that some birds like particular seed--i.e. the woodpeckers like nuts, goldies like sunflower hearts, etc....but I've wondered how much it *really* matters what seed or seed mixture you buy. Right now I have a standard feeder with a generic Wal-Mart blend--just millet and sunflower seeds, mostly--and I get the house finches/sparrows, lots of juncos, and the occasional chickadee, titmouse, jay, mourning dove, and "Buddy" our resident squirrel. (Oh, and the starlings have found the suet, which is okay because no one else seems to want it!)

I also just installed a thistle tube feeder which has been TOTALLY ignored (I have read it can take months).

I'd like to attract new and different birds and have read that a platform feeder or ground feeder can be good for the nuts and berries.

Should I add a platform feeder with a blend of "specialty" seed? If so, should I place it near the other feeders?

ETA: I live in central PA near a field. We get goldies in the summer (never at the feeder) and I recently saw three indigo buntings in the general area (oh!) Once I had a pileated woodpecker in a single dead tree (unusual place for him since there aren't tons of trees nearby). Nuthatches in the tree in the summer. I've seen tiny little woodpeckers around too. So....other birds do exist...they've just never come to my little feeder!

Last edited: